Power Songs

12 04 2010

I’m a big fan of power songs. As someone who is really motivated by music, a good soundtrack is essential in my work outs. Every year I seem to find a ‘power song’ – one that really gets you going when the chips are down. Often those songs reflect the core of what the training process distilled for me. Last year, my power song was The Pretender by the Foo Fighters. It’s a song about refusing to be something you aren’t and so much of my training last year was about realizing that I would never become the things I hated and feared. This year my power song has been Hello Hurricane by Switchfoot. It’s a song that’s more intimately connected to New Orleans and the recovery, as well as recognizing what’s stronger than any Category 5 storm and government mismanagement.

So as the race is a week away, I’ll have this song on repeat as I remember that Easter reminds us that you can put Hope in a grave, but it will never stay there.

Hello Hurricane

I’ve been watching the skies
They’ve been turning blood red
There is not a doubt in my mind
There’s a storm up ahead

(Chorus)

Hello Hurricane
You’re not enough
Hello Hurricane
You can’t silence my love
I’ve got doors and windows boarded up
All your dead end fury is not enough
You can’t silence my love

Everything I have I count as loss
Everything I have is stripped away
But before It started building
I counted up these costs
Ain’t nothing left for you to take away

(Chorus)

Hello Hurricane
You’re not enough
Hello Hurricane
You can’t silence my love
I’ve got doors and windows boarded up
All your dead end fury is not enough
You can’t silence my love

Im a fighter fighting for control
Im a fighter fighting for my soul
Everything inside of me surrenders
You can’t silence my love
You can’t silence my love

(Chorus)

Hello Hurricane
You’re not enough
Hello Hurricane
You can’t silence my love
I’ve got doors and windows boarded up
All your dead end fury is not enough
You can’t silence my love

I said Hello Hurricane

~~~Susan Haarman, Athletic Coordinator & Triathlete~~~

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

