Resolution: the mental state or quality of being resolved or resolute; firmness of purpose.

4 01 2010

I’ve been having a lot of conversations about New Year’s Resolutions these last few days. They have run the gambit: from wanting to pray more to drink coffee less to learn a how to knit to forget old grudges.

I’ve been trying to think of a good resolution but have been drawing a blank. Sure, I can think of a thousand things I want to improve on, but how to pick just one? I want to grow in patience and compassion, stop drinking soda, learn Spanish, pray more, call home more often…. the list goes on.

Thankfully I’m not doing this alone. New Year’s resolution are a reminder of what we wish to grow in. Our faith reminds us that we don’t stuggle to grow alone. We do so in a community of family and friends who remind us to be honest and surrounded by the Love of God, which never abandons us, but also never lets us forget we were meant for more than the choices we make.

So this New Year’s I’m resolving to be resolute. To have a firmness of purpose in my life that I hope will filter through all the other areas. That when I say I wish to live for a greater good, its evident in the things I do, how I treat others and choices I make.

A prayer for you this New Year
God of our yesterdays, our today, and our tomorrows.

We praise You for Your unequaled greatness.

Thank You for the year behind us and for the year ahead.

Help us in Your new year, Father, to worry less and laugh more.

To teach others to love by loving them.

Knowing, when Love came to the stable in Bethlehem, He came for us.

Thank You for another new year and for new chances every day.

Forgive us for falling short this past year.

We leave the irreparable past in your hands, and step out into the unknown new year knowing You will go with us.

~~Susan Haarman, Athletic Coordinator, Triathlete~~

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

